Egypt Flag

الزراعة والأمن الغذائي

لغة: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

Arabic Shim

فرز محصول العنب في مركز التعبئة بمدينة إسنا.
فرز محصول العنب في مركز التعبئة بمدينة إسنا.
الصورة: الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية/جولي فوسلر

تسهم الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في دعم مصر على زيادة إنتاجيتها الزراعية وزيادة دخل المزارعين. من خلال استثمارات بقيمة 1.4 مليار دولار لقطاع الزراعة في مصر منذ عام 1978، قدمت الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية الدعم الفني لأكثر من 500,000 مزارع من أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة، واستطاع المزارعون شراء الأراضي الزراعية وتحسين أساليب إدارة تلك الأراضي والحصول على الخدمات المالية، وتحرير الأسواق الزراعية. وتطبيقًا لنهج "الغذاء للمستقبل" الذي تقوده حكومة الولايات المتحدة للقضاء على الجوع وتحقيق الأمن الذائي العالمي، تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية على تشجيع المنافسة الحرة في الأسواق والمساعدة في ربط المزارعين بالمشترين المحليين والدوليين لتلبية احتياجات السوق وطلبات المستهلكين. منذ أواخر التسعينيات، نجحت مصر في زيادة عائداتها من الصادرات الزراعية بنسبة 1500٪ بدعم من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية.

يُعدّ قطاع الزراعة أحد الركائز الأساسية في الاقتصاد المصري، حيث يسهم بما يصل إلى 11.3% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي. ويمثل القطاع الزراعي ما يقدر بحوالي 28% من إجمالي الوظائف، وأكثر من 55% من العمالة ذات الصلة بالزراعة  في صعيد مصر. تهيمن على قطاع الزراعة في مصر المزارع الصغيرة التي تستخدم ممارسات تقليدية لا تتوافق مع المعايير المعترف بها دوليًا.

ولهذا البرنامج الذي تموله الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية أوجه متعددة، يكمِّل كل منها الآخر من خلال تحسين إنتاجية سلسلة القيمة الزراعية بالكامل، من المزرعة إلى المائدة. تساعد الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية صغار المزارعين في مصر على أن يكونوا أكثر استجابة لاحتياجات السوق العالمية حيث تقدم التدريب والدعم الفني للمزارعين كي يحصلوا على شهادات معايير الجودة الدولية، وهو ما يساعدهم على اكتساب ثقة المصدرين في إنتاجهم. وتوفر الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية تكنولوجيات مبتكرة للبنية الأساسية اللازمة للتخزين البارد والري، كما تعمل مع المزارعين في عمليات الفرز والتعبئة والتسويق، وبالتالي يتمكن المزارعون من تقديم منتجات عالية الجودة وبيعها بأسعار أفضل.

ويُعدُّ تطوير القوى العاملة وتمكين المرأة من الركائز الأساسية لضمان استدامة جهود الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية بعد انتهاء المشروع. وهذا الأمر جوهري بشكل خاص حيث تمثل السيدات نسبة 45% من إجمالي العاملين في قطاع الزراعة. ومن خلال العمل مع المدارس الفنية الزراعية والجامعات والمعاهد البحثية، تعمل الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية من أجل النهوض بجودة التعليم المقدَّم وتوفير فرص العمل والتدريب الداخلي في المزارع والمصانع للطلاب.

المشروعات الحالية

الغذاء للمستقبل – تعزيز الأعمال الزراعية في الريف المصري: من خلال هذا المشروع، تساعد الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية المزارعين في محافظات الدلتا وصعيد مصر على أن يصبحوا أكثر اعتماداً على الذات وتعزيز قدراتهم على إنتاج محاصيل قابلة للتسويق تستوفي المعايير الدولية للتصدير. من خلال هذا البرنامج، يقوم المزارعون ومصنعو الأغذية في مصر بتعزيز الروابط مع الأسواق المحلية والدولية، وزيادة إمكانية الحصول على التمويل، وزيادة امتثالهم لمعايير سلامة الغذاء. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يساعد المشروع الأعمال الزراعية المصرية في تحديث تكنولوجيا الأغذية وأنظمة النقل الخاصة بها من خلال تطوير مراكز التعبئة وشاحنات التبريد وأنظمة الري الموفرة للمياه. يبني هذا المشروع على النجاحات السابقة للوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية في القطاع الزراعي في مصر، بما في ذلك البنية التحتية للري، وتأسيس الجمعيات الزراعية، وبرامج التدريب لمساعدة المزارعين على الانتقال من زراعة المحاصيل التقليدية إلى المحاصيل البستانية عالية القيمة.

الشريك المنفذ: آبت أسوسيتس؛ مدة المشروع: أغسطس 2018 - ديسمبر 2023؛ إجمالي التكلفة التقديرية: 36.3 مليون دولار ؛ المحافظات المشاركة: الإسكندرية، أسيوط، أسوان، البحيرة، بني سويف، القاهرة، الدقهلية، الجيزة، الغربية، الإسماعيلية، الأقصر، المنوفية، المنيا، القليوبية، قنا، الشرقية، سوهاج

برنامج تقييم الأثر وبناء القدرات: بهدف دعم وضع السياسات القائمة على الأدلة والبراهين، ورقمنة الخدمات العامة، وتعزيز قدرات القطاع العام، تمول الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية المعهد الدولي لبحوث السياسات الغذائية من خلال برنامج تقييم الأثر وبناء القدرات. يساهم البرنامج في زيادة الدخل في الريف، والحد من الفقر، وتحقيق الأمن الغذائي، وتحسين التغذية في مصر. بناءً على عقود من استثمارات الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية لتحسين السياسة الزراعية والاقتصادية في مصر، يواصل هذا البرنامج إجراء تقييم السياسات، وبناء أدوات المتابعة الرقمية، وإتاحة الفرص التدريبة، وتقديم الخدمات الاستشارية للسياسات بالتعاون مع وزارة التخطيط والتنمية الاقتصادية، ووزارة التضامن الاجتماعي، ووزارة الزراعة واستصلاح الأراضي.

الشريك المنفذ: المعهد الدولي للبحوث والسياسات الغذائية (IFPRI)؛ مدة المشروع: يوليو 2015 - مارس 2024 ؛ إجمالي التكلفة التقديرية: 8.5 مليون دولار ؛ المحافظات: على مستوى الجمهورية.

Last updated: November 02, 2022

Share This Page

Egypt Flag

Agriculture and Food Security

Language: Arabic | English

Speeches Shim

A woman packages grapes for export at Esna Packhouse in Luxor, Egypt.
A woman packages grapes for export at Esna Packhouse in Luxor, Egypt.
USAID/Julie Fossler

USAID helps Egypt increase its agricultural productivity and raise farmers’ incomes. Through $1.4 billion in investments to the agriculture sector in Egypt since 1978, USAID provided technical assistance to more than 500,000 smallholder farmers, enabled farmers to purchase land, improved farm management techniques and access to financial services, and liberalized agricultural markets. Through Feed the Future, the U.S. Government’s global hunger and food security initiative, USAID’s approach encourages free-market competition and helps match farmers with local and international buyers to meet market needs and consumer demands. Since the late 1990s, Egypt has increased agricultural export revenue by 1,500 percent with USAID support.

Agriculture is a major component of the Egyptian economy, contributing 11.3 percent of the country’s gross domestic product. The agricultural sector accounts for 28 percent of all jobs, and over 55 percent of employment in Upper Egypt is agriculture-related. Egypt’s agriculture sector is dominated by small farms using traditional practices that do not meet international standards.

USAID’s programs complement each other by enhancing the productivity of the entire agriculture value chain, from farm to table. Working with local associations and cooperatives, USAID helps Egyptian small-scale farmers be more responsive to global market needs. Through training, farmers are able to achieve international quality standards certification, which helps them gain exporters’ confidence in their products. USAID incorporates innovative technologies in cold storage infrastructure and irrigation, and works with farmers on production, post-harvest processes, and marketing so that farmers can sell high-quality produce at higher prices.

Empowering women and developing a strong workforce are essential to ensure the impact of USAID’s work continues long after programs end. This is especially crucial in agriculture, which employs almost 45 percent of women in the workforce. Through work with agricultural technical schools, universities, and research institutions, USAID strengthens the quality of education and creates jobs and internships for students at commercial farms and factories.

CURRENT ACTIVITIES

EGYPT RURAL AGRIBUSINESS STRENGTHENING: Through the Feed the Future Egypt Rural Agribusiness Strengthening program, USAID helps farmers in Upper Egypt and the Delta increase incomes by growing marketable crops that meet international standards for export. Under this program, Egyptian farmers and food processors are establishing connections to domestic and international markets, gaining access to finance, and increasing their adherence to food safety practices. Additionally, the activity assists Egyptian agribusinesses in modernizing their food technology and delivery systems by upgrading processing facilities, refrigeration trucks, and water-efficient irrigation systems. This activity builds on USAID’s previous investments in Egypt’s agricultural sector, including in irrigation infrastructure, the establishment of agricultural associations, and training programs to help farmers transition from traditional staple crops to high-value horticulture.
Implementing Partner: Abt Associates; Life of Activity: August 2018 – July 2023; Total Estimated Cost: $36.3 million; Governorates: Alexandria, Assiut, Aswan, Beheira, Beni Suef, Cairo, Dakahlia, Giza, Gharbia, Ismailia, Luxor, Menoufia, Minya, Qalyoubia, Qena, Sharkia, Sohag.

EVALUATING IMPACT AND BUILDING CAPACITY: In support of evidence-based policymaking, digitalization of public services, and strengthening public-sector capacity, USAID funds the International Food Policy Research Institute through the Evaluating Impact and Building Capacity program. The program contributes to rural income growth, poverty reduction, food security, and nutrition in Egypt. Building on decades of USAID investments to improve agricultural and economic policy in Egypt, this program continues to conduct policy evaluations and assessments, build digital monitoring tools, deliver training, and provide policy advisory services in collaboration with the Ministry of Planning and Economic Development, the Ministry of Social Solidarity, and the Ministry of Agriculture and Land Reclamation.
Implementing Partner: International Food Policy and Research Institute (IFPRI); Life of Project: July 2015 – March 2024; Total Estimated Cost: $8.5 million; Governorates: Nationwide.

Last updated: June 13, 2022

Share This Page